Welcome!

So if I’m being honest, I’m not much of a writer. My papers in English class were always covered in red pen. Just thought we should get that little fact out in the open right away. ūüėČ

A little back history on my family: My husband and I move a lot. We have been married for just over two years and have moved about 4.5 times in that time frame. We were living in my sister’s basement apartment when we first got married and it was actually really nice because a month after the wedding, my husband went off to basic training and AIT for 5 months so it was great¬†having people around during that time. Did I mention my sister has 4 kids? (well 5 now) So yeah I wasn’t bored very often. Then after he got back from training we started hunting for our first house and settled on a small 2 bed 1 bath home in the town nearby where he worked.

Shortly after we moved, we found out we were going to be parents! At that time he was working in an RV factory which was nice for the sake of income but he went to college to be a pilot so it wasn’t supposed to be a long term thing. Unfortunately the area we are from isn’t exactly exploding with opportunities for pilots so he started researching jobs and out of the blue was like, “What do you think about moving to Florida?” At first I was like, “HA! yeah right!” thinking there was no way I could have my first baby and be 18 hours away from my family, but the more we talked about it, the more I realized maybe this was something we needed to do. The job there was flight instructing and the goal ¬†was to build flight hours since most piloting jobs require more hours than he had at the time. So just 4 months after moving into the house, we moved out and then in with his parents temporarily while we rented the house to some friends. We didn’t really think that one through before making it happen though. Turns out renting is more complicated than we thought so after “renting” the house out for 5 months, we sold it.

By this time it was May, we were living in Florida, and I was 7 months pregnant. Then fast forward to July 10th, our beautiful baby girl made her grand entrance 3 weeks early! (you can read my labor story here). ¬†After just 6 moths of living in Florida, Tyler found a charter company¬†he thought would be a good fit. ¬†It’s three hours from the place we call “home”, it pays better, and frankly, we didn’t like living in Florida.

So now here we are in the present. Tyler has 5 weeks of training for this job and during that time, Evelyn (our daughter) and I have been staying at my parents house. We are only all together on the weekends and it isn’t easy but there is a light at the end of the tunnel.

Two weeks ago we closed on our house up in Michigan and got immediate possession since it isn’t being lived in. He had this past week off so we were able to go work on it some and left Evelyn with my mom. I haven’t spent that much time away from her before and it was really hard but we were able to get a good amount done. So now onto the fun stuff! Check out my next post to see the before pictures of the house and follow along our projects and crazy journey.

 

Leave a Reply

